Download a copy of the latest Program Policies & Procedures in PDF format.
For Child Care Rates, please scroll down.
Infant Toddler Family Day Care (ITFDC) is a network of professional child care educators with a commitment to the principle that learning begins at birth. We support the emotional, social, and intellectual development of infants, toddlers, preschoolers, and school-aged children in safe, nurturing high-quality child care environments.
Children 6 weeks of age and older are eligible for enrollment in the Infant Toddler Family Day Care program. Please note that Virginia State law requires that proof of identity (birth certificate) for your child be provided with enrollment documents.
According to §63.2-1809 of the Code of Virginia, if the parent, guardian, or other person enrolling the child in a regulated child day program for longer than two consecutive days, or other pattern of regular attendance, does not provide the required information within seven (7) business days of initial attendance, the regulated program shall immediately notify the local law-enforcement agency of the parent or guardian’s failure to provide the requested information.
Children must have a current immunization record and physical examination signed by a physician on file. Immunization records and physicals are updated regularly. The child must be adequately immunized prior to enrollment and must receive additional immunizations as required by state law (unless parent provides proper documentation of medical or religious exemption).
*Parents may ask providers to disclose if there are children in the home that are unvaccinated.
Children cannot be brought to the family child care home when:
- Their temperature is in excess of 100.5 degrees
- They are vomiting and/or have diarrhea
- They have a fresh cold
- They have a contagious infection
- They are in discomfort and require one to one care
In the event that your child becomes ill in the family child care home, you will be called to pick up your child. Your child must be symptom free for 24 hours before returning to the child care home. Washable or disposable changing pads must be brought to the child care home. Each provider uses disposable gloves while changing diapers, assisting older children with toilet needs, etc. Providers are trained to properly abide by universal health precautions with the use of gloves.
The parent must inform the child care home within 24 hours or the next business day after his child or any member of the immediate household has developed any reportable communicable disease, as defined by the State Board of Health, except for life-threatening diseases, which must be reported immediately.
Infant Toddler Family Day Care is an approved USDA Child Care Food Program Sponsor. Providers serve breakfast, morning snack, lunch, afternoon snack and supper according to each child’s schedule. Parents may supply formula and infant food at their discretion. Reasonable accommodations for special diets will be handled on an individual basis to best meet the needs of the child and family. Medical recommendations with doctor’s statement related to special diet requirement will be needed to be on file.
Supplies and Equipment
Parents are responsible for providing their child’s provider with the following equipment:
- Disposable wipes
- Disposable diapers
- Car Seat
- Washable Changing Pad
- At least one complete change of clothing including shoes, socks and seasonally appropriate clothing.
CRIBS: Beginning December 28, 2012, the Virginia Department of Social Services will enforce a mandatory federal crib standard set by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). This CPSC requirement applies to all child care facilities and family day homes. A full-size crib must be in compliance with federal standard 16 CFR 1219 and a non-full-size crib must be in compliance with federal standard 16 CFR 1220. Please refer to this memo from the Virginia Department of Social Services for details on the mandatory crib standards and the acceptable documentation for compliance verification. For additional information please visit the CPSC website: http://www.cpsc.gov/info/cribs/index.html.
If a child needs blankets and he/she is under two years old, parents should supply the provider with a wearable blanket (e.g., HALO sleepsack wearable blanket or HALO early walker sleepsack wearable blanket.) No blankets, pillows, or toys will be placed in a crib.
Family child care providers and parents are encouraged to plan and participate in field trips. Outings are an important enrichment experience for the young child. They provide children with an opportunity to explore their environment. Children are required to be transported in an age-appropriate, federally approved infant or child car seat. Transportation to and from family child care homes will be the responsibility of the parents.
Because we live in challenging times, we have established the following emergency procedures to ensure the well-being of all children in the family. Please discuss and put in writing emergency procedures with your provider. Please be sure to address the following issues in your plan:
- Where would the provider go if she had to leave her home?
- How would you communicate?
- Provide a list of all numbers where you can be reached.
- Who should the provider contact in an emergency in the event that you or another family member is unavailable?
- Leave a car seat each day or get an extra car seat to leave permanently with your provider. Make sure the provider knows how to properly install the car seat.
- Be sure that your provider has at least a three day supply of formula, food, diapers and drinking water in case of an emergency.
Arrival and departure times are determined by the individual needs of families and providers. A change of schedule must be submitted to the office (703-352-3449) or online to email@example.com, with your provider’s approval, a month in advance of the change. After the first 45 days in care there will be a $25.00 change of schedule fee.
A general daily schedule that is appropriate for the age of the enrolling child (i.e., usual routine for provision of meals and snacks, naps, indoor/outdoor play, etc.) will be posted in the child care home.
The ITFDC office and family child care homes will be CLOSED only when the Federal Government is CLOSED for the full/entire day to the public due to inclement weather or other emergencies. (There will be no reimbursements for care missed in this situation.)
The ITFDC office and family child care homes will open on time if the Federal Government has a delayed opening.
The ITFDC office and family child care homes will not close early if the Federal Government is closing early for the day.
When an individual jurisdiction closes, i.e. Fairfax County, Arlington County, Falls Church City etc., our homes will remain open. All closures will be posted on ITFDC’s website.
Our homes are closed for the following paid holidays:
- Christmas Day through New Year’s Day
- Martin Luther King Day
- President’s Day
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day (+ 2 Additional Days)
- Labor Day
- Columbus Day
- Veteran’s Day
- Thanksgiving (Thursday and Friday)
Please notify your provider as soon as you schedule your vacation. (Please note – there are no refunds for days missed for vacations.)
If your provider is unable to care for your child, arrangements will be made for an approved Infant Toddler Family Day Care substitute. Please visit potential substitutes prior to using them. If you decide not to use this service, please notify your provider and/or substitute as soon as possible. Providers pay their substitutes. If you choose not to use a substitute, you are still responsible for the full fee.
Please notify the provider at least one hour before scheduled arrival time if your child is not going to be present that day. It is our policy to contact you if your child is absent from care without notice. If we cannot reach you, we will contact your emergency contacts.
Provider must notify the parents if an adult assistant or substitute provider instead of the provider is regularly scheduled to care for the child.
General Information Changes
Please notify provider and the office immediately in writing of any changes in emergency information, telephone number, job change, address change, or any other pertinent changes. Forms to effect all changes are being made available on the ITFDC web site: https://www.infanttoddler.com/forms/
Parents, providers and staff work together as a team to serve the best interest of the child. Respectful, open, honest communication between parents, provider and staff is crucial to your child’s well being. To facilitate effective communication:
- Daily activity sheets will be provided to parents.
- Parents and providers may establish a mutually convenient conference time.
- Child Care Specialists are available to assist you via phone or email.
Providers must report suspected child abuse or neglect according to § 63.2 – 1509 of the code of Virginia.
Providers must notify parents (required by 22 VAC 40-111-650):
- In writing, within 10 business days after the effective date of the change when there is no longer liability insurance in force on the family day home operation.
- Daily about the child’ health, development, behavior, adjustment, or needs
- Prior to when a substitute provider will be caring for the children (for provider’s vacation, appointments, etc.)
- When persistent behavioral problems are identified and such notification shall include any disciplinary steps taken in response.
- The same day whenever first aid is administered to the child.
- Within 24 hours or the next business day of the home’s having been informed, unless forbidden by law, when a child has been exposed to a communicable disease listed in the Department of Health’s current communicable disease chart. The provider shall consult the local health department if there is a question about the communicability of a disease.
- In writing, whenever there are changes in the home’s emergency preparedness and response plan (that is, any changes to the Provisions of the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan given to parents prior to the child’s first day of attendance.
- Whenever the child will be taken off the premises of the family day home, before such occasion (except in emergency evacuation or relocation situations) and the provider will have written parental permission.
- As soon as possible of the child’s whereabouts if an emergency evacuation or relocation is necessary.
Child Care Fees
The following is the fee schedule for child care fees effective October 1, 2017.
Child care fees are due the first of each month, payable in advance of care.
Rates are PER MONTH (NOT week).
|Arlington County||Parent Monthly Fee||25 Months and Up|
|6 Weeks through 24 Months||Parent Monthly Fee|
|1-15 hours/week||$731.73 per month||$698.46 per month|
|16–20 hours/week||$833.36 per month||$795.47 per month|
|21-25 hours/week||$1000.02 per month||$954.57 per month|
|26-30 hours/week||$1166.68 per month||$1113.64 per month|
|31-40 hours/week||$1250.01 per month||$1193.19 per month|
|41-50 hours/week||$1333.36 per month||$1272.75 per month|
|All Other Jurisdictions||Parent Monthly Fees||Parent Monthly Fees|
|6 Weeks through 15 Months||16 Months and Up|
|1-15 hours/week||$718.68 per month||$686.01 per month|
|16–20 hours/week||$818.51 per month||$781.30 per month|
|21-25 hours/week||$982.19 per month||$937.54 per month|
|26-30 hours/week||$1145.88 per month||$1093.80 per month|
|31-40 hours/week||$1227.72 per month||$1171.92 per month|
|41-50 hours/week||$1309.58 per month||$1250.06 per month|
One-Time, Non-Refundable Enrollment Fee: $400 (effective October 1, 2016)
Please note rates are evaluated annually by the providers.
The enrollment fee is due when the parent decides to hold a space with a child care provider. What does the one-time fee pay for? See our Frequently Asked Question page.
Late fees will be billed at $15 every 15 minutes. This fee is only charged if a family is consistently arriving before or after contracted hours.
Invoices will be emailed to you on the fifteenth of the month prior to the month of service. Payment is due by the first of each month. Please make sure that you supply our office with the email address(es) where you want to receive the invoice by completing the Billing Form.
Payments may be made automatically by using our automatic payment plan. To utilize this system, please read and complete the Billing Form. If you decide to mail your child care payments they must be received by our office by the first day of the month or care will be terminated. There will be a $25.00 late fee charge for payments received after the first of the month. Dishonored payments will incur penalty charges. Payments will then be required by cash or money order.
There are no reimbursements for absences from the family child care home due to vacations or illness.
Please notify your provider and the office in writing (or by completing the online Family Change Form) two weeks in advance of your child’s last day. Arrangements to hold a space may be made through the office with the consent of the provider.
Your child will miss you. To help your child adjust to the provider and family child care homes, please take time to become acquainted with the provider and the environment prior to the start of child care. In the morning, help your child to settle in – take off coat, change diaper, etc. but try not to stay too long. Remember, the crying usually stops a few minutes after you leave.
Occasionally a child is unable to adjust to the child care home. If after a reasonable period of time a child is unable to adjust, we reserve the right to request withdrawal of the child. If your provider is unable to care for your child, every effort will be made to place your child with another provider.
Redirection, positive role modeling, and a safe environment are tools used for discipline. Discipline means teaching. Spanking is not permitted in any Infant Toddler child care homes.
Calls received by Infant Toddler staff from parents who have a problem in the child care home will be considered a complaint as required by licensing. Infant Toddler staff will document, investigate, and file the complaint with the Virginia Department of Social Services, Department of State Licensing as required by family day system licensing standards.
Open Door Policy
Infant Toddler Family Day Care has an open door policy for all of our homes. Parents are encouraged to visit their child’s child care home at any time while their child is in care. Infant Toddler staff members also visit the homes on an unannounced basis.
Updated October 2017